1 Hour Long Cycle Charity Event


Well, it seems wordpress is refusing to load for me properly today, so I’m writing this post and emailing it to my blog. I’ve never done this before, so I’ve no idea how it’ll look as you all sit down at your office computers to have a read.

Anyhow, we did a very different type of Mobilising over the weekend.

I’m pretty sure you’ve heard about the goings on in the Philippines and how thousands of people lost their lives and thousands more have simply had their lives destroyed by some of the fastest winds ever to make landfall.

Our good friend, Mr Gan Power of Tramore Kettlebell club is engaged to a Filipino native and has a strong connection to the country. Myself and WGMA founder Paul Cox both train in the Filipino Martial Arts and have visited the country. Some of the places we trained in were destroyed in the storm, and some of our friends and Instructors are still waiting on word from family members who live in the affected areas.
So Gan and I are talking and he tells me that he’s organising a 1 Hour Long Cycle event at his club as a fundraiser. I think that’s a great idea, so mention it to some of my crew and they’re all, “Yeah, lets do it!”
Buoyed up by this, Gan contacted other Gyms around the country.

All in, I think 7 Kettlebell Clubs around Ireland all lifted on Saturday in aid of the Philippines.

Approximately 100 Irish kettlebell lifters were mobilised into action, collecting donations & sponsorship and then lifting and sweating.

I haven’t done a count up of the cash brought into me here yet, but I don’t think were far from the Grand mark. And that’s before Anders, our resident Yeti goes out and collects what he’s owed from the people that sponsored him on a PER REP basis. The boy did 401 unbroken reps with a 20kg bell!
And then there’s Mr Bannon, otherwise known as “Fake Phil”.

Fake Phil, in a magnificent solo effort has managed to raise €4,000.

Disregarding Mr Bannons epic effort for a moment, I estimate our little club has raised between €1200 – €1500. Times that by the other 7 clubs taking part and that’s a stack of wedge for the Filipino people.

The whole event happened at very short notice and mostly through facebook.
Makes me proud to be a member of the Kettlebell Community here in this small country.

Now, if you haven’t donated yet but want to, I’m still collecting money all week. I do hope to send it down to Gan next weekend so he can take it with him when he travels to the Philippines in December.
You can also send donations direct to the Tacloban chapter of the Red Cross, the details for that are:

Account Name: Red Cross Leyte Chapter
Bank Account No: 280-800-3004
BDO-Justice Romualdez, Tacloban City Leyte
For your donations to be properly acknowledged, please fax the bank transaction slip at nos. +63.2.527.0575 or +63.2.404.0979 with your name, address and contact number.

Regards

Dave Hedges
http://www.WG-Fit.com

Leave a Reply

